CITY SELECTION COMMITTEE MEETING

ACTION SUMMARY MINUTES

Fresno Council of Governments 2035 Tulare Street, Suite 201 (Sequoia Room), Fresno, California

Thursday, February 25, 2021 5:30 p.m.

Meeting held via Zoom

Members Attending:

Mayor Drew Bessinger, City of Clovis
Mayor Ron Ramsey, City of Coalinga
Mayor Alfred Valdez, City of Firebaugh
Mayor David Cardenas, City of Fowler
Mayor Jerry Dyer, City of Fresno
Mayor Rey Leon, City of Huron
Mayor Gary Yep, City of Kerman
Councilmember Michelle Roman, City of Kingsburg
Mayor Rolando Castro, City of Mendota
Mayor Alma Beltran, City of Parlier
Mayor Mary Fast, City of Reedley
Mayor Julia Hernandez, City of San Joaquin
Mayor Eli Ontiveros, City of Sanger
Mayor Scott Robertson, City of Selma

Absent:

Mayor Lopez, City of Orange Cove

1. Call Meeting to Order and Roll Call

MEETING WAS CALLED TO ORDER AT 5:30 P.M. BY MAYOR CARDENAS, CHAIR. ROLL CALL WAS TAKEN 14 MEMBERS PRESENT, MEMBER ORANGE COVE ABSENT. THERE WAS A QUORUM TO CONDUCT BUSINESS.

2. Approval of the June 25, 2020 Minutes

A MOTION WAS MADE BY MAYOR RAMSEY (COALINGA), SECONDED BY MAYOR ONTIVEROS (SANGER) TO APPROVE THE ACTION SUMMARY MINUTES AS PRESENTED. A ROLL CALL VOTE WAS CALLED AND THE MOTION PASSED, THIRTEEN YES, MEMBERS CLOVIS AND ORANGE COVE ABSENT.

3. CITY SELECTION COMMITTEE

Appoint Chairman of the City Selection Committee, term effective April 1, 2021, replacing David Cardenas, whose term will expire April 1, 2021. The new term will be April 1, 2021 to April 3, 2023.

MAYOR CARDENAS (FOWLER) VOLUNTEERED. NOMINATIONS WERE OPENED. MAYOR YEP (KERMAN) NOMINATED MAYOR CARDENAS (FOWLER). NOMINATIONS WERE CLOSED. A ROLL CALL VOTE WAS CALLED TO APPOINT MAYOR CARDENAS THE NOMINATION PASSED. FOURTEEN YES. MEMBER ORANGE COVE ABSENT.

4. CITY SELECTION COMMITTEE

Appoint Vice Chairman of the City Selection Committee, term effective April 1, 2021, replacing Robert Silva, whose term will expire April 1, 2021. The new term will be April 1, 2021 to April 3, 2023.

NOMINATIONS WERE OPENED. MAYOR YEP (KERMAN) NOMINATED COUNCILMEMBER ROMAN (KERMAN), MAYOR LEON (HURON) NOMINATED MAYOR VALDEZ (FIREBAUGH). NOMINATIONS WERE CLOSED. A ROLL CALL VOTE WAS CALLED TO APPOINT COUNCILMEMBER ROMAN, THE NOMINATION FAILED SIX YES AND EIGHT NOES. MEMBER ORANGE COVE ABSENT. A ROLL CALL VOTE WAS CALLED TO APPOINT MAYOR VALDEZ, THE NOMINATION PASSED THIRTEEN YES AND ONE NO. MEMBER ORANGE COVE ABSENT.

5. SAN JOAQUIN VALLEY LOCAL GOVERNMENT PLANNING SUPPORT GRANTS PROGRAM WORKING GROUP

Appoint one (1) Primary Member (large city) to the Local Government Planning Support Grants Program Working Group, term effective immediately, replacing Lee Brand, whose term will expire December 31, 2024.

NOMINATIONS WERE OPENED. MAYOR FAST (REEDLEY) NOMINATED MAYOR DYER (FRESNO). NOMINATIONS WERE CLOSED. A ROLL CALL VOTE WAS CALLED TO APPOINT MAYOR DYER, THE NOMINATION PASSED FOURTEEN YES AND NO NOES. MEMBER ORANGE COVE ABSENT.

6. TRANSPORTATION AUTHORITY

Appoint one (1) Westside Member to the Transportation Authority, to fill the vacancy of Amarpreet Dhaliwal, whose term will expire June 30, 2021. The term to expire June 30, 2021.

NOMINATIONS WERE OPENED. MAYOR HERNANDEZ (SAN JOAQUIN) NOMINATED MAYOR CASTRO (MENDOTA). NOMINATIONS WERE CLOSED. A ROLL CALL VOTE WAS CALLED TO APPOINT MAYOR CASTRO, THE NOMINATION PASSED FOURTEEN YES AND NO NOES. MEMBER ORANGE COVE ABSENT.

7. **PUBLIC PRESENTATIONS**: (This portion of the meeting is reserved for person desiring to address the City Selection Committee on any matter the committee has jurisdiction over which is not on this agenda).

NO PUBLIC PRESENTATIONS WERE MADE.

8. ADJOURNMENT

THERE BEING NO FURTHER BUSINESS, THE MEETING WAS ADJOURNED BY MOTION BY MAYOR FAST (REEDLEY), SECONDED BY MAYOR LEON (HURON) AT 5:53PM. A ROLL CALL VOTE WAS CALLED AND THE MOTION PASSED. FOURTEEN YES, MEMBER ORANGE COVE ABSENT.