CITY SELECTION COMMITTEE MEETING

ACTION SUMMARY MINUTES

Fresno Council of Governments (FCOG)
2035 Tulare Street, Suite 201, Sequoia Room, Fresno, California

Thursday, January 26, 2023 5:30 PM

Members Attending:

Mayor Lynn Ashbeck, City of Clovis
Mayor James Horn, City of Coalinga
Mayor Felipe Perez, City of Firebaugh
Mayor Daniel Parra, City of Fowler
Mayor Jerry Dyer, City of Fresno
Mayor Rey Leon, City of Huron
Mayor Julia Hernandez, City of San Joaquin
Mayor Maria Pacheco, City of Kerman
Mayor Pro Tem Brandon Pursell, City of Kingsburg
Mayor Victor Martinez, City of Mendota
Mayor Alma Beltran, City of Parlier
Councilmember Mary Fast, City of Reedley
Mayor Frank Gonzalez, City of Sanger
Mayor Scott Robertson, City of Selma

Absent:

Mayor Diane Guerra-Silva, City of Orange Cove

1. Call Meeting to Order and Roll Call

MEETING WAS CALLED TO ORDER AT 5:33 P.M. BY TONY BOREN, FCOG EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR. ROLL CALL WAS TAKEN: 13 MEMBERS PRESENT; MEMBERS ORANGE COVE AND SAN JOAQUIN ABSENT. THERE WAS A QUORUM TO CONDUCT BUSINESS

2. Resolution 2023-01 in the Matter of AB 361

Approve and adopt resolution finding that the City Selection Committee meeting is being held during a proclaimed state of emergency and determining that as a result of the proclaimed state of emergency, meeting in person would present imminent risk to the health and safety of attendees and authorizing the City Selection Committee: to conduct its meetings remotely in compliance with Government Code section 54953(e)

A MOTION WAS MADE BY MAYOR ROBERTSON (SELMA), SECONDED BY MAYOR BELTRAN (PARLIER) TO APPROVE RESOLUTION 2023-01 IN THE MATTER OF AB 361. A ROLL CALL VOTE WAS CALLED: 13 YES VOTES; MEMBERS ORANGE COVE AND SAN JOAQUIN ABSENT. THE MOTION PASSED

3. Approve Minutes of Meeting for September 29, 2022

A MOTION WAS MADE BY MAYOR ROBERTSON (SELMA), SECONDED BY COUNCILMEMBER FAST (REEDLEY) TO APPROVE THE ACTION SUMMARY MINUTES AS PRESENTED. A ROLL CALL VOTE WAS CALLED: 12 YES VOTES; MEMBERS ORANGE COVE, SANGER AND SAN JOAQUIN ABSENT. THE MOTION PASSED

4. City Selection Committee - Interim Chair Appointment

Appoint Chair of the City Selection Committee to the seat previously held by Michelle Roman and serve the remainder of the current term, which will expire April 3, 2023

EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR BOREN (FCOG) OPENED NOMINATIONS.
COUNCILMEMBER FAST (REEDLEY) NOMINATED MAYOR ASHBECK (CLOVIS). A
ROLL CALL VOTE WAS CALLED: 13 YES VOTES; MEMBERS ORANGE COVE AND
SAN JOAQUIN ABSENT. MAYOR ASHBECK (CLOVIS) APPOINTED

5. City Selection Committee - Chair Appointment

Appoint the next Chair of the City Selection Committee, effective April 3, 2023. The new term will be April 3, 2023, to April 1, 2025

EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR BOREN (FCOG) OPENED NOMINATIONS. NOMINEES WERE MAYOR ASHBECK (CLOVIS) AND MAYOR HORN (COALINGA). A ROLL CALL VOTE WAS CALLED: 7 YES VOTES FOR MAYOR ASHBECK; 5 YES VOTES FOR MAYOR HORN; MEMBERS ORANGE COVE, REEDLEY AND SAN JOAQUIN ABSENT. MAYOR ASHBECK (CLOVIS) APPOINTED

6. City Selection Committee - Vice-Chair Appointment

Appoint the next Vice Chair of the City Selection Committee to succeed Rey Leon, whose current term will expire April 3, 2023. The new term will be April 3, 2023, to April 1, 2025

EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR BOREN (FCOG) OPENED NOMINATIONS. NOMINEE WAS MAYOR MARTINEZ (MENDOTA). A ROLL CALL VOTE WAS CALLED: 12 YES VOTES; MEMBERS ORANGE COVE, REEDLEY AND SAN JOAQUIN ABSENT. MAYOR MARTINEZ (MENDOTA) APPOINTED

7. San Joaquin Valley Unified Air Pollution Control District Citizens Advisory Committee – Alternate Member Appointment

Appoint one (1) alternate member to the San Joaquin Valley Unified Air Pollution Control District Citizens Advisory Committee to the seat previously held by Ron Ramsey and serve the remainder of the current term, which will expire Jan. 31, 2025

EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR BOREN (FCOG) OPENED NOMINATIONS. NOMINEE WAS MAYOR ROBERTSON (SELMA). A ROLL CALL VOTE WAS CALLED: 12 YES VOTES; MEMBERS ORANGE COVE, REEDLEY AND SAN JOAQUIN ABSENT. MAYOR ROBERTSON (SELMA) APPOINTED

8. Transportation Authority – Westside Member Appointment

Appoint one Westside member to the Transportation Authority to the seat previously held by Rolando Castro and serve the remainder of the current term, which will expire June 30, 2023

MAYOR HERNANDEZ (SAN JOAQUIN) JOINED THE MEETING. EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR BOREN (FCOG) OPENED NOMINATIONS. NOMINEE WAS MAYOR PEREZ (FIREBAUGH). A ROLL CALL VOTE WAS CALLED: 13 YES VOTES; MEMBERS ORANGE COVE AND REEDLEY ABSENT. MAYOR PEREZ (FIREBAUGH) APPOINTED

9. San Joaquin Valley Regional Early Action Planning (REAP) Committee (Working Group) – Small-City Member Appointment

Appoint one small-city member to the San Joaquin Valley Regional Early Action Planning (REAP) Committee (Working Group), previously known as the San Joaquin Valley Local Government Planning Support Grants Program (Working Group), to the seat previously held by Gary Yep and serve the remainder of the current term, which will expire Dec. 31, 2024

EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR TONY BOREN (FCOG) OPENED NOMINATIONS. NOMINEE WAS COUNCILMEMBER YEP (KERMAN). A ROLL CALL VOTE WAS CALLED: 12 YES VOTES; MEMBERS ORANGE COVE, REEDLEY AND SAN JOAQUIN ABSENT. COUNCILMEMBER YEP (KERMAN) APPOINTED

10. Public Presentations

(This portion of the meeting is reserved for persons desiring to address the City Selection Committee on any matter the committee has jurisdiction over which is not on this agenda)

NO PUBLIC PRESENTATIONS WERE RECEIVED

11. Adjournment

A MOTION TO ADJOURN WAS MADE BY MAYOR ROBERTSON (SELMA), SECONDED BY MAYOR PEREZ (FIREBAUGH). A ROLL CALL VOTE WAS CALLED: 13 YES; MEMBERS ORANGE COVE AND REEDLEY ABSENT. THE MEETING WAS ADJOURNED AT 6:05PM