CITY SELECTION COMMITTEE MEETING ACTION SUMMARY MINUTES

Fresno Council of Governments
2035 Tulare Street, Suite 201, Sequoia Room, Fresno, California

Thursday, April 27, 2023 5:30 PM

Members Attending:

Mayor Pro Tem Vong Mouanoutoua, City of Clovis

Mayor James Horn, City of Coalinga

Mayor Felipe Perez, City of Firebaugh

Mayor Daniel Parra, City of Fowler

Councilmember Mike Karbassi, City of Fresno

Mayor Maria Pacheco, City of Kerman

Mayor Pro Tem Brandon Pursell, City of Kingsburg

Mayor Victor Martinez, City of Mendota

Mayor Diane Guerra- Silva, City of Orange Cove

Mayor Alma Beltran, City of Parlier

Councilmember Mary Fast, City of Reedley

Mayor Julia Hernandez, City of San Joaquin

Mayor Frank Gonzalez, City of Sanger

Mayor Scott Robertson, City of Selma

Absent:

Mayor Rey Leon, City of Huron

1. Call Meeting to Order and Roll Call

MEETING WAS CALLED TO ORDER AT 5:32 P.M. BY MAYOR MARTINEZ (VICE CHAIR). ROLL CALL WAS TAKEN: 11 MEMBERS PRESENT; MEMBERS CLOVIS, ORANGE COVE, KERMAN AND HURON ABSENT. THERE WAS A QUORUM TO CONDUCT BUSINESS

2. Approve Minutes of Meeting for January 26, 2023

A MOTION WAS MADE BY COUNCILMEMBER FAST (REEDLEY), SECONDED BY MAYOR PRO TEM PURSELL (KINGSBURG) TO APPROVE THE ACTION SUMMARY MINUTES AS PRESENTED. A ROLL CALL VOTE WAS CALLED AND THE MOTION PASSED: 11 YES, MEMBERS CLOVIS, HURON, ORANGE COVE AND KERMAN ABSENT

3. Airport Land Use Commission

Appoint one (1) Member to the Airport Land Use Commission (ALUC) seat held by Jon Bartel, whose current term will expire May 1, 2023. The new term will be effective May 1, 2023, and will expire May 3, 2027

MEMBERS KERMAN AND CLOVIS JOINED THE MEETING. VICE CHAIR MARTINEZ OPENED NOMINATIONS. THERE WERE NO NOMINEES. A MOTION WAS MADE BY COUNCILMEMBER KARBASSI (FRESNO), SECONDED BY MAYOR PARRA (REEDLEY) TO RETURN TO THE ITEM AT THE NEXT AGENDA. A ROLL CALL VOTE WAS CALLED AND THE MOTION PASSED: 13 YES; MEMBERS HURON AND ORANGE COVE ABSENT

4. Airport Land Use Commission

Appoint one (1) Member to the Airport Land Use Commission seat held by Raymond Remy, whose current term will expire May 1, 2023. The new term will be effective May 1, 2023, and will expire May 3, 2027

MEMBER ORANGE COVE JOINED THE MEETING. VICE CHAIR MARTINEZ OPENED NOMINATIONS. COUNCILMEMBER FAST (REEDLEY) NOMINATED RAYMOND REMY AS A MEMBER AND NICOLE ZIEBA AS AN ALTERNATE. A ROLL CALL VOTE WAS CALLED: 14 YES; MEMBER HURON ABSENT. RAYMOND REMY AND NICOLE ZIEBA (REEDLEY) APPOINTED

5. Local Agency Formation Commission (LAFCo)

Appoint one (1) Member to the Local Agency Formation Commission (LAFCo) seat held by Daniel Parra, whose current term will expire May 1, 2023. The new term will be effective May 1, 2023, and will expire May 3, 2027

VICE CHAIR MARTINEZ OPENED NOMINATIONS. MAYOR ROBERTSON (SELMA)
NOMINATED MAYOR PARRA (FOWLER). A ROLL CALL VOTE WAS CALLED: 13 YES;
MEMBERS HURON AND ORANGE COVE ABSENT. MAYOR PARRA (FOWLER)
APPOINTED

6. Local Agency Formation Commission (LAFCo)

Appoint one (1) Member to the Airport Land Use Commission seat held by Raymond Remy, whose current term will expire May 1, 2023. The new term will be effective May 1, 2023, and will expire May 3, 2027

VICE CHAIR MARTINEZ OPENED NOMINATIONS. NOMINEES WERE MAYOR MARTINEZ (MENDOTA) AND MAYOR ROBERTSON (SELMA). A ROLL CALL VOTE WAS CALLED: 4 VOTES FOR MAYOR MARTINEZ (MENDOTA); 9 VOTES FOR MAYOR ROBERTSON (SELMA); MEMBER ORANGE COVE ABSTAINED; MEMBER HURON ABSENT. MAYOR ROBERTSON (SELMA) APPOINTED

7. Public Presentations

NO PUBLIC PRESENTATIONS WERE MADE

8. Adjourn

A MOTION TO ADJOURN WAS MADE BY MAYOR BELTRAN (PARLIER) SECONDED BY MAYOR HORN (COALINGA). A ROLL CALL VOTE WAS CALLED: 13 YES; MEMBER ORANGE COVE ABSTAINED; MEMBER HURON ABSENT. THE MEETING WAS ADJOURNED AT 5:47 P.M.