Regional Transportation Plan and Sustainable Communities Strategy Roundtable MEETING SUMMARY Wednesday, June 26, 2024 2:00 PM

I. WELCOME AND INTRODUCTIONS (Paul Herman)

The meeting was called to order by Mr. Herman at 2:05 p.m.

A. ROLL CALL (Denise Flores)

Ryan Burnett, City of Clovis

Kelsey George, City of Firebaugh

Jill Gormley, City of Fresno

Jesus Orozco, City of Kerman

David Peters, City of Kingsburg

Michael Osborn, City of Mendota

Gelasio Rodriguez, City of Parlier

Nicole Zieba, City of Reedley

Stan Bulla, City of San Joaquin

Derek Sylvester, City of Sanger

Jerome Keene, City of Selma

Erin Haagenson, County of Fresno

Eric McLaughlin, SJV Air Pollution District

Brian Spaunhurst, Fresno LAFCo

Christopher Xiong, Caltrans

Edgar Hernandez, Caltrans

Greg Barfield, City of Fresno FAX

Amy Hance, City of Clovis Transit

Janelle Del Campo, FCRTA

Babeeta Nagra, PG & E

Steve Haze, Tranquility Resource Conservation District

Adam Livingston, Sequoia Riverlands Trust

Nick Paladino, Fresno Cycling Club

Dr. Anthony Molina, Public Health Advocate

Spencer Bremer, Fresno County Economic Development Corporation (EDC)

Scott Miller, Fresno Chamber of Commerce

Christine Miktarian, State Center Community College District

Samuel Molina, Measure C Oversight Committee

Terri Figgs, League of Women Voters of Fresno

Michelle Roman, Public-at-Large

Paul Marquez, Public-at-Large

Michelle Lopez, Public-at-Large

31 members present. Simple majority is 16.5.

II. NEW INFORMATION/DISCUSSION ITEMS

A. <u>Election of Chair and Vice-Chair [ACTION]</u>

After an opportunity for public comment, Ms. Zieba (Reedley) motioned, and Ms. Hance (City of Clovis Transit) seconded to approve Michelle Roman (Public-at-Large) as Chair.

Vote: All in Favor 31 yes, 0 noes. The motion passed.

After an opportunity for public comment, Ms. Del Campo (FCRTA) motioned, and Ms. Zieba (City of Reedley) seconded to approve Amy Hance (City of Clovis Transit) as Vice Chair.

Vote: All in Favor 31 yes, 0 noes. The motion passed.

B. 2026 RTP/SCS Overview, Schedule, and Milestones [INFORMATION] (Paul Herman)

Summary: Staff will provide a summary of the 2026 RTP/SCS process, including the development schedule and key milestones.

Action: Information Only. Direction may be provided at the discretion of the Roundtable.

Paul Herman (FCOG) presented a PowerPoint presentation at the Roundtable meeting and provided a brief overview of the project history and process.

Ms. Roman, Chair, called for questions.

This item is informational only, no action is needed.

C. Roles and Responsibilities of the RTP/SCS Roundtable [INFORMATION] (Paul Herman)

Summary: Staff will outline the roles and responsibilities of the RTP Roundtable, including discussion of key decision points, and how the Roundtable, Roundtable Subcommittees, Transportation Technical Committee (TTC), Policy Advisory Committee (PAC), and the Fresno COG Policy Board interact during the development of the 2026 RTP/SCS.

Action: Information Only. Direction may be provided at the discretion of the Roundtable.

Paul Herman (FCOG) presented a PowerPoint on the roles and responsibilities of the committee.

Ms. Roman, Chair, called for questions.

This item is informational only, no action is needed.

D. <u>Public Engagement and Outreach Overview [INFORMATION] (Brenda Thomas)</u>

Summary: Fresno COG's Public Participation Plan (PPP) identifies opportunities for the public to participate in Fresno COG's planning processes and provides the Fresno COG Policy Board and staff with guidance on conducting public outreach and interagency consultation early and often during the regional planning process. It contains policies, guidelines, processes, and procedures Fresno COG commits to implementing while seeking and fostering open public involvement during the decision-making process, regarding all matters within its discretion. The PPP contains an Regional Transportation Plan (RTP)/Sustainable Communities Strategy (SCS) Public Outreach Strategy that establishes the process by which the public and all stakeholders may participate in the development of the plan, identifying procedures, strategies, and desired outcomes.

The PPP was released for 45-day public review and comment on May 17, 2024. A public hearing is set for June 27, 2024 at the Fresno COG Policy Board Meeting at 5:30 pm. All public comment will be received through June 30th and the Policy Board will be asked to adopt the PPP at their July meeting.

COG staff will provide the Roundtable with an overview of the RTP/SCS public outreach strategy during the meeting.

Action: Information Only. Direction may be provided at the discretion of the Roundtable.

Brenda Thomas (FCOG) reported on the Public Participation Plan and Public Engagement and Outreach Overview.

Ms. Roman, Chair, called for questions.

This item is informational only, no action is needed.

E. <u>Subcommittees and Volunteers: Policy Subcommittee, SCS Subcommittee, and Programming Subcommittee</u> [INFORMATION] (Paul Herman)

Summary: Staff will provide a summary of the various subcommittees of the Roundtable and will ask for Roundtable members to volunteer to participate.

Action: Informational Only. Direction may be provided at the discretion of the Roundtable.

Paul Herman (FCOG) gave a brief description of the committees and alerted Roundtable members of their participation.

Ms. Roman, Chair, called for questions.

This item is informational only, no action is needed.

III. OTHER ITEMS

A. Items from Staff

- Robert Phipps (FCOG) thanked all for their participation in this process.
- Brenda Thomas (FCOG) will post the PowerPoint presentation from today's meeting.

B. Items from Members

There were no items from members.

IV. PUBLIC PRESENTATIONS

There were no public presentations.

The meeting was adjourned at 2:57 p.m.

Members of the Public:

Ryan Burnett, City of Clovis Ashley Atkinson, City of Fresno Fernando Alvarez, Fresno Chamber of Commerce Darren Cousineau, State Center Community College District

FCOG Staff:

Paul Herman, Robert Phipps, Denise Flores, Kai Han, Brenda Thomas, Santosh Bhattarai, Pankaj Joshi, Shichen Fan, Ofelia Abundez.