CITY SELECTION COMMITTEE MEETING ACTION SUMMARY MINUTES

Fresno Council of Governments 2035 Tulare Street, Suite 201, Sequoia Room, Fresno, California Thursday, June 27, 2024, 5:30 p.m.

Members Attending:

Mayor Lynn Ashbeck, City of Clovis Mayor James Horn, City of Coalinga Mayor Elsa Lopez, City of Firebaugh Councilmember Amarjeet Gill, City of Fowler Councilmember Mike Karbassi, City of Fresno Mayor Rey Leon, City of Huron Mayor Maria Pacheco, City of Kerman Mayor Brandon Pursell, City of Kingsburg Mayor Victor Martinez, City of Mendota Mayor Pro Tem Gilbert Garcia, City of Orange Cove Mayor Alma Beltran, City of Parlier Councilmember Mary Fast, City of Reedley Mayor Frank Gonzalez, City of Sanger Mayor Scott Robertson, City of Selma Robert Phipps, Interim Executive Director Bryan Rome, Legal Counsel

Absent:

Mayor Julia Hernandez, City of San Joaquin

1. Call Meeting to Order and Roll Call

MEETING WAS CALLED TO ORDER AT 6:00 P.M. BY MAYOR ASHBECK (CHAIR). ROLL CALL WAS TAKEN 14 MEMBERS PRESENT. MEMBER SAN JOAQUIN ABSENT. THERE WAS A QUORUM TO CONDUCT BUSINESS.

2. Approval of the June 29, 2023, Minutes

A MOTION WAS MADE BY COUNCILMEMBER KARBASSI (CITY OF FRESNO), SECONDED BY MAYOR PACHECO (KERMAN) TO APPROVE THE ACTION SUMMARY MINUTES AS PRESENTED. A ROLL CALL VOTE WAS CALLED AND THE MOTION PASSED, 14 YES, MEMBER SAN JOAQUIN ABSENT.

3. TRANSPORTATION AUTHORITY

Appoint one (1) Eastside Member to the Transportation Authority, to the seat currently held by Alma Beltran, whose term will expire June 30, 2024

Note: The City Selection Committee appoints two members representing cities within the county (other than the cities of Fresno and Clovis) - one westside member appointed by a committee comprised of the mayors of each of those cities west of State Highway Route 99 and one eastside member appointed by a committee comprised of the mayors of each of those cities east of State Highway Route 99 (California Public Utilities Code § 142051 (d))

CHAIR MAYOR ASHBECK OPENED FOR NOMINATIONS.

A MOTION WAS MADE BY MAYOR ROBERTSON (SELMA), SECONDED BY MAYOR PURSELL (KINGSBURG) TO ELECT ALMA BELTRAN. A ROLL CALL VOTE WAS CALLED. 7 EASTSIDE MEMBERS VOTED YES (FOWLER, KINGSBURG, ORANGE COVE, PARLIER, REEDLEY, SANGER, AND SELMA) MOTION PASSED.

4. AIRPORT LAND USE COMMISSIONS (ALUC)

Appoint one (1) Member to the Airport Land Use Committee, to the vacant seat previously held by Jon Bartel, for the remainder of the current term to expire May 3, 2027.

The vacant seat was held by Jon Bartel, representing the City of Fresno. The other City Selection Appointment currently represents the City of Reedley.

The term of office is four years. All terms end on the first Monday in May. A person who already holds an elected or appointed public office may be appointed and serve as a member of the commission during their term of public office.

Note: The City Selection Committee appoints two members representing the cities in the county. At minimum, one representative must be appointed from a city contiguous or adjacent to a public use airport (California Public Utilities Code § 21670(b)(1))

CHAIR MAYOR ASHBECK OPENED FOR NOMINATIONS.

MAYOR BELTRAN NOMINATED HERSELF. A MOTION WAS MADE BY MAYOR BELTRAN (PARLIER), SECONDED BY MAYOR PRO TEM GILBERT GARCIA (ORANGE COVE) TO ELECT ALMA BELTRAN. A ROLL CALL VOTE WAS CALLED. THE MOTION PASSED, 14 YES MEMBER SAN JOAQUIN ABSENT.

5. PUBLIC PRESENTATIONS

NO PUBLIC PRESENTATIONS WERE MADE.

6. ADJOURNMENT

MOTION TO AJOURN WAS MADE BY MAYOR MARTINEZ (MENDOTA) AND SECONDED BY COUNCILMEMBER FAST (REEDLEY). THE MOTION PASSED, 14 YES MEMBER SAN JOAQUIN ABSENT. THE MEETING WAS ADJOURNED AT 6:06PM.