CITY SELECTION COMMITTEE MEETING ACTION SUMMARY MINUTES

Fresno Council of Governments 2035 Tulare Street, Suite 201, Sequoia Room, Fresno, California Thursday, April 24, 2025, 5:30 p.m.

Members Attending:

Mayor Vong Mouanoutoua, City of Clovis
Mayor Nathan Vosburg, City of Coalinga
Mayor Freddy Valdez, City of Firebaugh
Mayor Juan Mejia, City of Fowler
Councilmember Annalisa Perea, City of Fresno
Mayor Pro Tem Gary Yep, City of Kerman
Mayor Brandon Pursell, City of Kingsburg
Mayor Victor Martinez, City of Mendota
Mayor Diana Guerra-Silva, City of Orange Cove
Mayor Alma Beltran, City of Parlier
Mayor Matthew Tuttle, City of Reedley
Mayor Scott Robertson, City of Selma
Robert Phipps, Executive Director
Bryan Rome, Legal Counsel

Absent:

Mayor Rey Leon, City of Huron Mayor Frank Gonzalez, City of Sanger Mayor Adam F. Cornejo, City of San Joaquin

1. Call Meeting to Order and Roll Call

THE MEETING WAS CALLED TO ORDER AT 5:45 P.M. BY MAYOR MARTINEZ (CHAIR). ROLL CALL WAS TAKEN 12 MEMBERS PRESENT. MEMBERS HURON, SANGER AND SAN JOAQUIN ABSENT. THERE WAS A QUORUM TO CONDUCT BUSINESS.

2. Approval of February 27, 2025, Minutes

A MOTION WAS MADE BY MAYOR BELTRAN (PARLIER), SECONDED BY MAYOR VALDEZ (FIREBAUGH) TO APPROVE THE ACTION SUMMARY MINUTES AS PRESENTED. A ROLL CALL VOTE WAS CALLED AND THE MOTION PASSED, 12 YES, MEMBERS HURON, SANGER AND SAN JOAQUIN ABSENT.

3. CAL-ID RAN BOARD [APPOINT]

Appoint one (1) Member to the Cal-ID RAN Board, to the seat previously held by Lynn Ashbeck, for an indefinite term.

Note: The City Selection Committee shall appoint one mayor (Penal Code § 11112. 4). This item returns to the committee after being tabled at the February 27, 2025, meeting.

MAYOR PURSELL (KINGSBURG) RECUSE HIMSELF FROM DISCUSSION AND VOTE. CHAIR MAYOR MARTINEZ OPENED FOR NOMINATIONS.

MAYOR MARTINEZ (MENDOTA) MOTIONED TO APPROVE FREDDY VALDEZ (FIREBAUGH), SECONDED BY MAYOR MOUANOUTOUA (CLOVIS). A ROLL CALL VOTE WAS CALLED. THE MOTION PASSED, 11 YES, MEMBERS HURON, SANGER AND SAN JOAQUIN ABSENT.

4. LOCAL AGENCY FORMATION COMMISSON (LAFCo) [APOINT]

Appoint one (1) Member to the Local Agency Formation Commission (LAFCo), to the seat currently held by Gary Yep, whose current term will expire May 5, 2025. The new term will be effective May 5, 2025, and will expire May 7, 2029.

Note: The City Selection Committee appoints two (2) mayors/council members to serve as Members and one (1) mayor/council member to serve as an Alternate Member (Government Code§ 56325(b)).

CHAIR MAYOR MARTINEZ OPENED FOR NOMINATIONS.

COUNCILMEMBER PEREA (FRESNO CITY) NOMINATED MAYOR DYER (FRESNO CITY).

MAYOR PRO TEM YEP (KERMAN) NOMINATED SELF.

MAYOR VOSBURG (COALINGA) NOMINATED VICTOR MARTINEZ.

A ROLL CALL VOTE WAS CALLED.

MAYOR DYER - 2 VOTES (CITY OF FRESNO, SELMA)

MAYOR PRO TEM YEP - 1 VOTE (KERMAN)

MAYOR MARTINEZ – 9 VOTES (CLOVIS, COALINGA, FIREBAUGH, FOWLER, KINGSBURG, MENDOTA, ORANGE COVE,

PARLIER, REEDLEY)

MEMBERS HURON, SANGER AND SAN JOAQUIN ABSENT.

MAYOR VICTOR MARTINEZ WAS APPOINTED.

5. PUBLIC PRESENTATIONS

NO PUBLIC PRESENTATIONS WERE MADE.

6. ADJOURNMENT

MOTION TO AJOURN WAS MADE BY MAYOR BELTRAN (PARLIER) SECONDED BY MAYOR MOUANOUTOUA (CLOVIS). THE MEETING WAS ADJOURNED AT 6:12PM.